This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.
1
Vote

'Select a VeraCrypt volume' dialog should forget selection state between sessions

description

When 'Never save history' is selected, VeraCrypt continues to remember the last selected path/directory after invoking 'Select File'. This exposes the possible location of encrypted files.

For greater security, when 'Never save history' is selected, VeraCrypt should revert to a neutral directory whenever invoking 'Select File'.

EDIT: Changed title from "Never save history: forget path" to "'Select a VeraCrypt volume' dialog should forget selection state between sessions".

comments

Enigma2Illusion wrote Jul 6, 2016 at 12:58 PM

What platform are you using? (Windows, Mac, etc)
Which version of VeraCrypt are you running on your PC?

On my Windows 7 Pro 64-bit system, VeraCrypt already selects a neutral directory of the Windows account when I click on Select File after previously selecting a file container and mounting the file container. Hence, clicking the Select File does not remember the last location even though the full path and file name still show in the main VeraCrypt window just above the checkbox for "Never save history".

If you close the VeraCrypt main window, VeraCrypt clears the volume selection just above the checkbox for "Never save history". If you leave the main VeraCrypt window open, then you will continue still see the last volume (disk, partition or file container) that you mounted even when you dismount that volume until you close the main VeraCrypt window.

To me, I prefer this behavior so I can remember the most recent volume I used in the scenario of having multiple dismounted VeraCrypt volumes. Or when mounting/unmounting the same volume multiple times during the day, I can leave the main VeraCrypt window open.

Mounted volumes are displayed in the main VeraCrypt window. So anyone that can access your computer can see where your mounted volumes are located and if you use Favorites, review the Favorites to determine VeraCrypt volumes location/devices.

819eardrums wrote Jul 8, 2016 at 6:05 AM

Apologies for not providing my system details.
What platform are you using? (Windows, Mac, etc)
-- Mac OS X 10.11.4
Which version of VeraCrypt are you running on your PC?
-- 1.17

I agree with you that displaying the last used path within the text box is useful during the course of a VeraCrypt session. I should have been more specific in that my concern extends to the behavior of the 'Select file' dialog, which, at least in OS X, persists the last selected directory between VeraCrypt sessions when it shouldn't when 'Never save history' is checked.

This behavior is exhibited even when no volume is actually mounted from the file selection dialog. Simply navigating to a new directory will save the dialog state.

Here's how to reproduce the issue:
  • Open VeraCrypt
  • Ensure that 'Never save history' is checked.
  • Click 'Select file'.
  • The 'Select a VeraCrypt volume' dialog opens.
  • Navigate to directory X, X being a specific, non-neutral directory.
  • Either select a volume and click 'Open' or simply click 'Cancel'.
  • Close VeraCrypt.
  • Reopen VeraCrypt.
  • Click 'Select file'.
  • The 'Select a VeraCrypt volume' dialog opens.
  • The dialog has navigated to directory X.
Expected behavior:

The 'Select a VeraCrypt volume' dialog in the final step above should navigate to a neutral user directory, e.g., the user's home directory.