VeraCrypt version 1.19

Rating:        Based on 22 ratings
Reviewed:  19 reviews
Downloads: 130500
Change Set: 629787b8c7fa
Released: Oct 17, 2016
Updated: Jan 8, 2017 by idrassi
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application VeraCrypt version 1.19
application, 24256K, uploaded Jan 8 - 49836 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Application VeraCrypt Linux Setup 1.19
application, 16720K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 32429 downloads
Application VeraCrypt MacOSX Setup 1.19
application, 8943K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 13238 downloads
Example PGP Signature for VeraCrypt Windows Setup 1.19
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 4813 downloads
Example PGP Signature for VeraCrypt Linux Setup 1.19
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 3594 downloads
Example PGP Signature for VeraCrypt MacOSX Setup 1.19
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 1386 downloads
Documentation VeraCrypt 1.19 user Guide
documentation, 2829K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 8885 downloads
Example PGP Signature for VeraCrypt 1.19 user Guide
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 1529 downloads
Source Code VeraCrypt 1.19 Source (Windows Format)
source code, 23204K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 1774 downloads
Example PGP Signature of VeraCrypt 1.19 Source (Windows Format)
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 571 downloads
Source Code VeraCrypt 1.19 Source (UNIX Format)
source code, 22675K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 1257 downloads
Example PGP Signature of VeraCrypt 1.19 Source (UNIX Format)
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 413 downloads
Source Code VeraCrypt DCS EFI Bootloader 1.19 Source
source code, 166K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 797 downloads
Example PGP Signature of VeraCrypt DCS EFI Bootloader 1.19 Source
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 365 downloads
Application VeraCrypt 1.19 Bundle (All files and their signatures)
application, 81348K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 2685 downloads
Example PGP Signature of VeraCrypt 1.19 Bundle
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 601 downloads
Example SHA256/SHA512 sums of VeraCrypt 1.19 Bundle
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 1271 downloads
Example SHA256 sums for VeraCrypt 1.19 release files
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 1768 downloads
Example SHA512 sums for VeraCrypt 1.19 release files
example, 2K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 1292 downloads
Example Release notes for VeraCrypt 1.19
example, 2K, uploaded Oct 17, 2016 - 1020 downloads
Application VeraCrypt Raspbian (ARMv7) Setup 1.19
application, 6833K, uploaded Oct 27, 2016 - 736 downloads
Example PGP signature for VeraCrypt Raspbian (ARMv7) Setup 1.19
example, 1K, uploaded Oct 27, 2016 - 240 downloads

Release Notes

Changes between 1.18a and 1.19 (17 Octobre 2016) :

  • All OSs:
    • Fix issues raised by Quarkslab audit.
      • Remove GOST89 encryption algorithm.
      • Make PBKDF2 and HMAC code clearer and easier to analyze.
      • Add test vectors for Kuznyechik.
      • Update documentation to warn about risks of using command line switch ”tokenpin”.
    • Use SSE2 optimized Serpent algorithm implementation from Botan project (2.5 times faster on 64-bit platforms).
  • Windows:
    • Fix keyboard issues in EFI Boot Loader.
    • Fix crash on 32-bit machines when creating a volume that uses Streebog as PRF.
    • Fix false positive detection of Evil-Maid attacks in some cases (e.g. hidden OS creation)
    • Fix failure to access EFS data on VeraCrypt volumes under Windows 10.
    • Fix wrong password error in the process of copying hidden OS.
    • Fix issues raised by Quarkslab audit:
      • Fix leak of password length in MBR bootloader inherited from TrueCrypt.
      • EFI bootloader: Fix various leaks and erase keyboard buffer after password is typed.
      • Use libzip library for handling zip Rescue Disk file instead of vulnerable XUnzip library.
    • Support EFI system encryption for 32-bit Windows.
    • Perform shutdown instead of reboot during Pre-Test of EFI system encryption to detect incompatible motherboards.
    • Minor GUI and translations fixes.
  • MacOSX:
    • Remove dependency to MacFUSE compatibility layer in OSXFuse.

Reviews for this release

     
Nice,and good
by wanhairul on Jan 19 at 8:42 PM
     
Awesome - everything (almost) working perfectly! Was something changed in this release that removed the option to not display any text (or create your own message) during pre-boot password for an encrypted system disk?
by Eboon on Jan 10 at 1:57 PM
     
Works well and compatible with TrueCrypt
by ashrafsabrym on Jan 10 at 6:59 AM
     
My browser is claiming there is a virus in this release. If this is a known niggle, please disregard my 1 star rating!! But other can you address or answer the concern please?
by Soulfiremage on Dec 24, 2016 at 1:09 PM
The files are safe and it is just a false positive from Google anti-malware service. It started just before Christmas...it is not helpful that this happens during holidays period. Files are available at https://launchpad.net/veracrypt/+download
Reply by idrassi (Coordinator) on Dec 27, 2016 at 9:42 AM
     
First, I did not have issues downloading VeraCrypt using Chromium, nor installing on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS. There was no false positive virus notification. Secondly, the program works like a charm, requires minimal effort to learn, and is virtually dummy-proof. The UI is very well laid-out. One of the better programs I have used in any category.
by ThePaleKing on Feb 5 at 5:36 AM
     
First, THERE ABSOLUTELY IS NO VIRUS!!! Now with that out of the way, my review: It works flawlessly. I use Windows 10 x64 14986 but I have no doubt it works everywhere. Absolutely no better encryption software than VeraCrypt is available, either paid or free. Don't believe it? Try them and see. Terrible interfaces, if there even IS an interface, some are command-line only, improper implementation of algorithms (by tweaking to make them "better" without knowing what they're doing), and a host of other problems. I scanned this version of VeraCrypt today at VirusTotal with 54 anti-virus engines with ZERO detections as a virus. Well known engines included are AVG, Avast, Avira, BitDefender, ClamAV, Eset, F-Secure, Kaspersky, Malwarebytes, McAfee, Symantec, and TrendMicro, Bottom line: You can not go wrong with VeraCrypt. Hats off to Mr. Idrassi yet again! Donated.
by Thinking_Monkey on Jan 29 at 8:16 PM
     
NOT A VIRUS!!! You can scan it I did Mbam - Malwarebytes Corporate, even scanned link and uploaded file to TotalVirus 100% legit. Great work I just had come up on this! Bitlockers comp? I hope
by Valknut14 on Jan 24 at 12:39 AM
     
Someone used VeraCrypt to build a ransomware. Now, if you try to download it from your website, browsers warn you that this is ransomware. Please, tell browser companies that this software is safe if it downloaded from your sources. Or make an announcement on your page.
by passwd on Dec 25, 2016 at 12:13 PM
     
A bit more stable on Win10 64 than 1.18. I am running in portable mode and besides the few nag screens on volume decryption its the best solution out there IMO.
by erikcoder on Dec 20, 2016 at 6:44 AM
     
No issues, no surprises, updated on Windows/10 Home and Professional. Very pleased.
by Steveghi on Dec 19, 2016 at 2:34 AM
     
Works like a charm
by Mertsch on Dec 12, 2016 at 2:54 PM
     
Used it on Fedora. Simple and efficient. Great work !
by Lerenn on Dec 8, 2016 at 2:53 PM
     
Tested it on Ubuntu 16.04 for file based volumes from 5 MB Truecrypt FAT to 100 GB Veracrypt NTFS. Worked fine. Used it on Windows 10 to encrypt system drive and second drive. Awesome! This tools makes me feel safe for my data - perfect guidance during encryption and recovery stick. Donated some amount, will donate more later. Hope will support BTRFS in future on Windows and on Linux.
by asdandRizzo on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:53 AM
     
The same issue with DELL Laptops running on Windows 10 like in HP Laptops (:
by mgonet on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:11 AM
     
As solid as ever - works like a charm.
by Jockster on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:59 AM
     
Excellent, useful and very fast. Thank you for getting it up and running for Windows 10. Only issue is with HP laptops and having to always use the rescue disk due to HP not letting the system boot to legacy first. Not an issue on the HP desktops. Very stable.
by uandir1 on Nov 9, 2016 at 10:42 PM
     
Working perfectly!
by johnnyfly on Oct 22, 2016 at 6:04 PM
     
Better than good.
by Atalanttore on Oct 19, 2016 at 3:51 PM
     
VIRUS!!! Now that I have your attention. The exe's and the Linux Setup downloads are both being blocked by Chromium and Firefox on Linux. Chromium is saying the file is malicious. Firefox is claiming the file contains a virus or malware. I checked previous versions and they are also being flagged in the same way. I have no way to download Veracrypt! Please get this fixed. I hope it's an innocent mistake on the part of my browsers. I hope they haven't been hacked. That would be the worst thing since Truecrypt.
by alire on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:10 AM
This is a false positive from Google and I didn't receive any official explanation about it. Meanwhile, VeraCrypt can be downloaded safely from https://launchpad.net/veracrypt/+download or https://sourceforge.net/projects/veracrypt/files/VeraCrypt%201.19/
Reply by idrassi (Coordinator) on Dec 27, 2016 at 9:37 AM