This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Using VeraCrypt though CMD or Terminal to create encrypted File containers ...

Topics: Feature Requests, Technical Issues, Users Discussion
Nov 4, 2016 at 11:06 PM
Dear All ,

I am really new to this so please bare with me ,

So I would like to create an off side backup system , but I want to send the data encrypted (i don't trust ZIP files )(and the VPN will be also encrypted tunel .. but still ) any way ,

So I would like to be able to create a File container , drop the files in it , randomize the keys , create them , print them(on a physical printer ) , destroy them , and then take the File container send it to the other side and keep it there until i need it ... ,

this has to be fully automated ... and full prof ,

If you have any other ideas I am very open to suggestions .. but I would like to have data transparency and total security

Thank you in advance

The Test
Nov 10, 2016 at 11:48 AM
So you are just trying to move data securely from point A to B? Verypt can create, mount and dismount via command line, so this can be done automatically in a batch, but I don't think veracrypt is correct tool for this. For my encrypted file transfers I use in my backup scripts something like "tar whatever | gnupg key | curl whereto", this way I can even use public cloud storage.

Just read veracrypt manual how to do that, or if you specify exactly what you want to do, I can consider making a batch script for you in exchange that you will donate any affordable amont for the veracrypt project ;-)
Nov 20, 2016 at 4:08 PM
Dear testoslav ,

If you will care a batch for me I would be really grateful , But I am a kind of "difficult customer" so You will be asked to do a lot :D (printing(on a physical printer) a then destroying the key ) and then verification fo the data on the other side ( it would be catastrophic to send the encrypted container with nothing or half of the data in it :D )