This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Operation faild

Topics: Technical Issues
Aug 15, 2016 at 7:13 PM
Edited Aug 17, 2016 at 3:12 PM
Hi..

Im using Windows 10 Pro and yesterday I encrypted my Toshiba External Harddrive with VeraCrypt, and now I cant get mount it. It gaves me the error 7336.
I have used AES. It says me it needs 25 hours, and after ~3 hours i pressed stop or something and plugged the Harddrive into an USB 3.0 port, now it only needed ~5 hours before that it was in an 2.0. Maybe thats why its now dont work? I think I mount it correctly, but im new to Veracrypt. I also tryed mount it over partition one. my pass was 15 charakter long, 10 letters, then ^^ and abc or 123, I tried both. My pass is correct i think/hope, but what does 7336 means?
I really hope somone can help me, I lost like 800 gigabytes of data, no backup, no keyfiles..
And sorry for my english, my primary language is german
Aug 17, 2016 at 11:07 AM
anyone can help?
Aug 17, 2016 at 2:40 PM
Edited Aug 17, 2016 at 2:43 PM
Chriiails wrote:
anyone can help?
I doubt it.

Chriiails wrote:
I have used AES. It says me it needs 25 hours, and after ~3 hours i pressed stop or something and plugged the Harddrive into an USB 3.0 port
Well, that's clear as pig iron. But it sounds like you were encrypting a huge amount of data in place, got
impatient, wouldn't wait one day for it to finish, and stopped (or somethinged) it, in which case MAYBE
somebody can suggest a recovery strategy, but it wouldn't surprise me if you're just up the creek without even the idea of
a paddle. Of course you backed up your data before subjecting it to a procedure you weren't familiar
with. Because that's just SOP and common sense, right?

Chriiails wrote:
And sorry for my englisch
Oh, that's englisch! No wonder I faild to extract clear meaning - I thought maybe it was English.

With all good will,, 2 suggestions: When the diction and syntax is flakey anyway, and even the concepts