This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Is there a way to speed up mounting of external HDD on a Windows XP desktop?

Topics: Technical Issues, Users Discussion
Apr 22, 2016 at 7:28 AM
Edited Apr 22, 2016 at 7:29 AM
Hi everyone:

I'm new to VeraCrypt so pardon if this is a silly question (been using mostly BitLocker but decided to try open source solution.)

So I have an old Windows XP desktop that I need to make daily backups on. (Mostly my emails -- nothing too important, but still I don't want to just copy it onto a plain-view external disk.)

I have a 1.8TB external HDD attached to it via USB-2. I installed VeraCrypt on that PC and set up full disk encryption on that external HDD (only.) The password to unlock it is 25 chars long (totally random gibberish stored in LastPass password manager.)

It works fine, copying files is a bit slower than if there was no encryption, but I can live with it.

What seems to be absolutely dreadfully slow is first mounting this drive. I just timed it, and it takes about 8-plus minutes. Moreover, during mounting the OS itself freezes up, even the mouse doesn't move. (Almost like a BSOD, except the blue screen.)

So I'm curious, what did I do wrong? And is there a way to speed up this mounting process?

PS. I understand that speed and encryption don't go hand-in-hand. Except in my case I'm not needing a very strong encryption (for Pete's sake, I'm using Windows XP on that desktop.) So will shortening my password to say, 12, 10 or 8 characters speed it up?
Apr 22, 2016 at 1:23 PM
VeraCrypt uses higher number of iterations for the hash when mounting a volume due to the security audits of TrueCrypt determine the number of iterations used was too weak for today's computing power.

You can control the mount time with lower iterations if you use a password of 20 more characters using the PIM feature.

https://veracrypt.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Personal%20Iterations%20Multiplier%20%28PIM%29