This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Problem if I cannot turn on my Pc with VeraCrypt installed

Topics: Technical Issues, Users Discussion
Apr 10, 2016 at 10:44 AM
Hi, please I need an advice,

A friend of mine installed VeraCrypt on my D drive but I had a strong doubt : I have Windows 10 installed on the C drive, while the D drive is protected by VeraCrypt like I said... if one day I did not succeed to turn on my PC for any reason, how could I decrypt the data from the disk D?

I have no idea, I'm not an expert at all, should I remove the D drive and attach it to a new PC and install again VeraCrypt ? But in this way I could lose all my back up maybe, what could be a solution ? Thank you
Apr 10, 2016 at 11:41 AM
The "D: drive" is not a backup, is it?

You need backups. VC has the data encrypted. If you want to lessen the risk of loss of that volume, then you need the data on it to be on different media (backed up), it could be another VC volume. You should also backup the header for the VC volume(s), in case they become corrupt for whatever reason.

With your backups, your key file(s) if you are using them and your password/passphrase, then the drive should be able to be decrypted on any new system running VC (without loss of data, unless there is media failure, but then you will have the backup volume won't you?).

It is actually likely that your friend installed VC in to the Windows installation, it may be a portable install, but is more likely to be fully installed. You need to talk with your friend and get some answers so that you know what is going on with your computer.
Apr 10, 2016 at 11:54 AM
Someone else has a more technical explaination when you say "With your backups, your key file(s) if you are using them and your password/passphrase, then the drive should be able to be decrypted on any new system running VC".