This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Unencrypted when sent to trash? Mac OSX El Capitan

Topics: Users Discussion
Feb 13, 2016 at 9:05 PM
Edited Feb 13, 2016 at 9:26 PM
When I delete a file from an encrypted volume "send to trash" does that go to my trash on my computer? Then I would suspect that file is unencrypted. This may be out of the scope of VeraCrypt, but how does one dispose of files securely?

Looks like I can't delete this comment.

I went looking and found instructions here: How to Securely Empty Trash in OS X El Capitan
Feb 14, 2016 at 9:27 PM
dont worry, it goes to the trash which is still stored on your VC volume. Once you logoff (close the VC volume), the deleted file will not be visible. No need to securely delete it.
Marked as answer by Hewlett on 2/14/2016 at 4:29 PM
Apr 23, 2016 at 8:41 PM
I THINK it is no longer a problem, AFAIK, but I do recall
at least one gui file manager for linux that used to send trash from
ALL partitions to the SAME trash can. That's a really stupid design -
not just for security reasons - and
they fixed it to work the standard way - seperate trash cans for
each partition. My memory of it is hazy - I think maybe that it was thunar
that worked that way for one version at least, but I've played with
a lot of different file managers, and it was a while back.

Anyway, never hurts to check now and then, especially if you switch
file managers.