This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

State of the art in Password Hashing Algorithm - (as of 2016) - Argon2i for Password Hashing

Topics: Feature Requests
Feb 9, 2016 at 8:06 AM
Hi Mounir, it's been quite a long time since my last confession :P

Disclaimer: I'm a complete noob on these topics, and I think I'm conflating encryption algorithms with password hashing algorithms, so I apologize in advance. I seem to grasp that they way persistent memory is encrypted/decrypted has nothing to do with how the passcode (password/passphrase) is stored, accessed and concealed, and that's as far as I can go.

Nonetheless, I wanted to bring this important new advance in the cryptography field (specifically in the password hashing arena) to your attention, in the hopes that, if you find it useful, can leverage its power to improve this amazing piece of software.

EoD (End of Disclaimer)

If applicable, would you please look into the specs of this new "algo" and see if it can be integrated in a future release of VeraCrypt, as another option?

Argon2i

After two years of extensive research and relentless cracking efforts by the best teams in the cracking community, it was awarded the First Place in the Password Hashing Competition and they are urging anyone who cares to listen to its adoption. (A quick glance at the names involved in both the judging panel and the development teams, reveals a who is who of the best minds alive in the fields of cryptography, password cracking and IT security.

Other links of interest: