HELP - URGENT: I Cannot Mount My Encrypted Drive !!!

Topics: Technical Issues, Users Discussion
Jan 19, 2016 at 12:06 AM
I have had the longest night trying to recover my encrypted drive, with the only set of my most important documents. I'm inbetween a rock and a hard place, not being able to work, or take care of extremely critical tasks. I know - was going to run a new backup in just 2 days from now...

Here's what happened:
  1. I could not load Windows 10 and tried to run Startup Recovery, which stalled and rebooted
  2. Used Paragon Recovery Tools and unfortunately chose REBUILD MBR FOR ALL DRIVES !!!
  3. Having corrupted the encrypted drived by creating an MBR on it I deleted the partition
  4. As I could still not mount the encrypted drive I ran DISKPART and CLEAN on it
I check "Use backup header embedded in volume, if availble", but it fails to mount.

I would be most grateful for any advice on what to do, as I'm a newbie to encryption.

Kindly,
Kaliya
Jan 21, 2016 at 12:30 PM
You had whole system encrypted, or just a partition? Have you used clean all, or clean? Clean all overwites the disk = data are gone.

I accidently deleted mbr too, had my second partition encrypted and I had no idea where it began. All you need is to create exactly the same partitions with exact sizes. If you have installed windows yourself, you are probably lucky and you can try to repeat the instalation on another drive of the same size and then copy the mbr. This is what saved my ass.
Jan 21, 2016 at 5:02 PM
Hi Testoslav!

Thanks a lot for helping me out :)

I only did a simple clean - not clean all. I have encrypted a whole drive/device in one partition on a drive with no OS - only documents (but EXTREMELY important ones).

Please, can you tell me exactly how you did the export/import of the MBR?

Kindly,
Kaliya
Jan 22, 2016 at 9:24 PM
I booted live linux flash and used dd under linux where sda is first drive (with correct mbr) and sdb is the dead one