This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Two Post-System Encryption Questions

Topics: Technical Issues, Users Discussion
Sep 1, 2016 at 5:21 PM
Hello,

I just want to preface this by saying I am a novice user...
  1. I just encrypted my system partition, but see that my primary drive containing my data (different drive from the system partition) is unencrypted. Is there any security advantage to also encrypting the other this drive (non-system partition), or is this a moot point because pre-boot authentication is enabled and in theory no one would be able to access, read or write those files without the pre-boot password?
  2. Is Veracrypt compatible with Tails OS? After encrypting my system partition, I cannot install Tails. I have changed the BIOS settings and manually adjusted the boot priority to boot from USB, but still cannot seem to boot from USB to install Tails after having encrypted my system partition.
Sep 1, 2016 at 6:47 PM
Edited Sep 1, 2016 at 6:58 PM
Jake_Stone wrote:
  1. . . . in theory no one would be able to access, read or write those files without the pre-boot password?
That seems a mighty strange theory. Why can't they? Maybe I've misunderstood, but it seems to me you haven't described anything to stop them. Data is normally what people want to protect with encryption and encrypting an OS is normally only considered when you are SO cautious about security of data that you want to protect the hints about that data that accumulate in system files, typically file names and such. It's hard to imagine circumstances when encrypting an OS and NOT encrypting data makes any sense at all.

Jake_Stone wrote:
  1. Is Veracrypt compatible with Tails OS?
Short and oversimple answer: yes and no. Yes, in that
using Tails shouldn't damage any of the software or data on your machine, and that includes
VC and crypts made with VC. In that sense, Tails is "compatible" with absolutely anything.