This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Can somebody help me with converting to MBR.

Topics: Users Discussion
May 15, 2016 at 1:37 PM
Edited May 15, 2016 at 1:40 PM
Hello. Can somebody here please assist me with converting my Win10 Asus Zenbook Pro UX501JW's UEFI/GPT partition to MBR so I can install VeraCrypt? I want to do a full-disk encryption of my SSD. I'm not an IT professional but I need to secure my laptop and after some research I decided not to trust BitLocker.

Also, if someone knowledgeable has a bit of time, I would very much like an explanation of what is going to be lost or what are the downsides (limitations ) I will have to assume by converting GPT to MBR? I suppose there are advantages of using GPT since newer machines use it,. Thank you very much.
May 15, 2016 at 3:10 PM
Edited May 15, 2016 at 3:11 PM
If you can remove and replace your SSD, then I think the best option would be to test with a new fresh SSD; make sure the UEFI is set to legacy boot -- just for starters.

Then install Windows 10 (if you must use Windows) on the fresh SSD. If you need to transfer files across, perhaps install the original SSD in a portable device so that you can see it via USB.

It might not be so easy to achieve if you don't have IT skills...

Also, realize that your device, being one meant for Windows 10, it is possible that it is a "Windows ONLY" device and you may not have adequate options in the UEFI (formerly the BIOS) to set it up any other way.

Edit: Converting GPT to MBR is not something that can be done easily if at all. Some people have indicated tools in the past, but I still have my doubts.
May 15, 2016 at 6:47 PM
Edited May 15, 2016 at 6:50 PM