This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Autodestruction of files

Topics: Feature Requests
May 10, 2016 at 4:33 PM
Can you integrate an option to "autodestruct" the files inside the keys, following different kind of algorithms, if the password is false too many time? Or can you create an emergency password that erase all data!

In french:
En cas de pb, serait-il possible d'intégrer une fonction de destruction total des fichiers? (À différente complexité)
Par exemple, qd le mot de passe est faux trop de fois ou en entrant un mot de passe d'urgence?
May 10, 2016 at 4:56 PM
There are feature requests at the links below that you can vote on these and other issues.

https://veracrypt.codeplex.com/workitem/26

https://veracrypt.codeplex.com/workitem/260

I think Mounir would have to change the VeraCrypt header to allow for a "destruct header" password. Currently, the header has primary, embedded backup header for non-system volumes and hidden volume password.
May 10, 2016 at 8:12 PM
Edited May 10, 2016 at 8:13 PM
In fact, it is more like a panic password, it is more stealthy than a panic button!
Exemple : your parents, boss, cops, ... ask your password, you can give the "panic password" and delete a part or the entire disc !
After having deleting these data, you can create a text explaining the content.
I think it should not be so hard to create when the "panic button" will be phased in : when the program will read the password to compare, if it match to the "panic password", it runs the function that erase things. You may also create a number of failure before activating, like a apple which block himself after X fail !
Maybe, you can use a function used by software like Ccleaner, providing safe erase by overwriting on datas.
May 10, 2016 at 8:59 PM
Edited May 10, 2016 at 9:01 PM
When using the "destruct password" in the presence of law enforcement or court order in some countries would violate their laws as an act of destruction of evidence.

Also, law enforcement is not going to allow you to access the original drives.

The panic button should be used prior to opening the door. :-)