Encryption Algorithm and Hash Algorithm

Topics: Feature Requests, Users Discussion
Jan 8, 2016 at 1:38 PM
Edited Jan 8, 2016 at 1:40 PM
Hello,

I have several questions for this post.

First, when it comes to Encryption and Hash, what is a good combination? I have been using TrueCrypt for the last 7 years. I tend to always pick the 3 layer Encryption Algorithm, and either Whirlpool or RipeMD-160. It seems that that is an overkill for some file containers. What would be a good combination between Encryption and Hash? I still prefer security over performance.

Second, I noticed that VeraCrypt does not support RipeMD-160 during the file container creation stage. Only SHA 256, SHA 512 and Whirlpool showed up.

Third, I have been using Encryption, Hash, and KeyFiles for TrueCrypt. Now, with the introduction of PIN and picking the Hash "PKCS-5 PRF", I will probably use that too. However, what is the point of the "PKCS-5 PRF" dialog selection when there is also "Auto Detection"? By leaving it at "Auto Detection", wouldn't it defeat the purpose of security? At which point, it only serves as performance to mount quicker, right? Asides from Password, KeyFiles, and PIN; is there any thing else can be used to heighten security?

Fourth, I noticed VeraCrypt, has a 64 bit version. When would I use the 64 bit version over the 32 bit version?

Fifth, what and how to use the PKCS#11.dll?

Thanks
Jan 8, 2016 at 3:21 PM
Edited Jan 8, 2016 at 3:23 PM
RipeMD-160 was removed because it is quite old and not as well-tested as the others.
Removing it is a precaution. It can be used for system partition only, as the bootloader used to support only RipeMD-160 .

Auto Detection is for performance reasons, you are right. If you used the Whirlpool, Auto detection would try (and compute) SHA-512 first which is wasted time.
Even more: If you misstype the password (or PIM or keyfile), all hashes will be tested wasting even more time.