This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

files you have worked on inside your Veracrypt volumes are later shown in Windows 10

Topics: Users Discussion
Nov 9, 2015 at 11:15 PM
After I access some files inside one of my Veracrypt volumes on a Windows 10 virtual machine (running on Hyper-V) when I dismount this volume I am reminded what I have accessed.

As you can imagine this I'm not too happy about this.

From what I have read, some shortcuts are made in here:- %userprofile%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent\

so I have made a script that I use when dismounting my VC volumes to do this;
del %userprofile%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent*.lnk

but I'm still seeing these icons later on.

what am I missing?
Nov 11, 2015 at 12:22 AM
On Windows 8.1 I encountered the same problem using Truecrypt. I'll try to describe how this Windows feature can be turned off. Since my Windows is a German version I've to do some translation back to English which may not be 100% correct.

Right-click on task bar and select Properties from the context menu.
There select the Jump List tab.
Uncheck the appropriate check-box ('recently opened elements...', or so). You may also reset the jump list size to zero.

Good luck.