System Encryption Fails

Topics: Technical Issues
Jun 17, 2015 at 9:51 PM
Hi,

I'm new to VeraCrypt but I'm a long time TrueCrypt user.
I wanted to encrypt my System drive. I wanted to use AES256, normal encryption(not hidden).
VeraCrypt wanted to do a Pre Boot test which failed.
VeraCrypt asks me for a password, when I type it in it says verifying password, this takes about 10min then it says Password OK, Booting....
Well after 20min I turned the PC off and booted without the password.
VeraCrypt works on this PC because I have a encrypted volume(40 GB) with a hidden volume.

To my PC, Windows 7 Ultimate (I have extra uninstalled Windows 10 Insider because i couldn't find anything about Windows 10 Support). I have two drives, one normal Harddisk and one SSD. The System is installed on the SSD, the other drive contains only Data (like the 40GB volume). The system is set to boot from the SSD. I don't know if its important but the normal drive is ID0 and the SSD is ID1. Maybe also important (or not) both drives are connected to a PCIE Sata3 controller card...

What could I try to get the System drive encrypted?

Thanks

LordRayden
Jun 19, 2015 at 3:04 PM
If the Windows System Reserved partition exists, is it on the SSD drive or the second drive?

Can you attach to your post a picture of your Windows Device Management?
Jun 19, 2015 at 6:17 PM
HI,

unfortunately there is, Windows 7 creates one for Bitlocker. It's on the SSD. I can disconnect the normal HardDisk and the System boots without problems.
In the settings before the test I set VeraCrypt to take the whole drive including the SRP.
Do you know a service where I can upload the Device Manager Image without registering? I can't upload it here (or am I just overseeing it?)

Thanks

LordRayden
Jun 19, 2015 at 6:21 PM
Edited Jun 19, 2015 at 6:23 PM
Found one...
Which section should I expand?

Jun 19, 2015 at 8:15 PM
In the settings before the test I set VeraCrypt to take the whole drive including the SRP.