This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Newbie: How do I "know" my files are encrypted & how to move encrypted files to Google Drive

Topics: Users Discussion
Apr 10, 2015 at 8:31 PM
I'm a newbie to encryption - many heartfelt thanks to idrassi for his labor (& countless hours) of love and to all the others who support VeraCrypt - thank you!

First, the beginner tutorial for setting up VeraCrypt is excellent. Over the past 2 weeks I've played with my volume(s), moving files, working with files, etc, in the mounted volume(s). I fully understand files are encrypted/decrypted in RAM on the fly, thus I always see "normal" files, not "garbage". Question: how do I "KNOW" my files are encrypted when all I see are "normal" files? I'd like to know how to export an encrypted file and prove to myself the file truly is encrypted.

Second, I've studied this discussion board & documentation but haven't figured out how to get encrypted files moved to Google Drive. I know it can be done because of this prior post:
https://veracrypt.codeplex.com/discussions/581487

I've tried moving my mounted volume to GD but the test files are in plain unencrypted format - I'm not doing something right...

Thanks to all for helping a newbie!
Apr 10, 2015 at 11:25 PM
Hello Don,

TrueCrypt and VeraCrypt are disk encryption utilities that allow you to encrypt an entire disk, a disk partition or virtual disk called file container. The generic term used is disk volume.

Hence, your files are encrypted within the volume. When you dismount the volume, the files are locked-up in the volume encrypted. You cannot extract files within the dismounted volume to export as encrypted files. And when the volume is mounted, per the design of on-the-fly encryption/decryption will prevent copying the files in the volume as encrypted files to a target drive like Google Drive.